>Sweater Wall Art

>I got these frames at a yardsale from the “free” box. LOVE anything free!! HATE the ugly old lady cat pictures…

I started by taking those ugly cats out. Then I painted the frames with some mistinted gray paint I got a few months ago

Then I painted over it (2 coats) of this great mistinted paint I got at Lowes for $3.00

Had to get Buckley in there…just to let you know that every time I do one of these peojects he’s RIGHT THERE with me πŸ™‚

Then I took some fine-grit sandpaper and lightly distressed the edges so the gray showed through…

Just because…I added a clear glaze with a very tiny bit of white paint mixed in so it would lighten it up a bit.

I planned on filling the frame with parts of my old sweater (too short…was destined for the thrift store), putting the glass on top, and adding these very cute vinyl decals I got on super clearance…

And then…disaster struck. My husband was walking into our living room and did this to my glass:
NOOO!! He shattered my glass by stepping on it!! I was so mad! As I sat there sulking, I tried to put the other glass in the other frame…and…

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I broke it clean in half!!! I sat there and started laughing/crying while my husband just laughed. I mean, come on! That did not just happen!!

So, scrap the vinyl decal idea. I was just so frustrated by this point I wanted these things done and I didn’t really care how. So I hot-glued the sweater pieces onto the cardboard backing…

Then I sat and just looked at them for a while. I had no idea what to do with the middle…but I was too impatient to “sit on it” and think about it for a day. I was just so frustrated I wanted them done. Now.

So I pulled out a stencil I used for my old window project and mixed together some “vintage white” acrylic paint with some “Metallic Silver Sterling” and painted it right on the sweater. Then, I called it a day. Here they are:

It’s really hard to get a picture of their true color using the flash…so here’s a picture without the flash (but with a yellowish tint instead…)

What do you think of it? I think it’s growing on me…sometimes it’s just hard to let go of your original idea! But I do like the soft colors and the texture of the sweater. And this project really was basically free! I used things I already had around the house πŸ™‚

I will try to sell these on Craigslist…but if they don’t sell I’ll put them in the growing stock of things I want to sell at a craft fair eventually. What about you guys…have you ever sold at a craft fair? I think that would be so fun! Any suggesstions…?!

Again, you’re all amazing. Thank you for all of your words of encouragement in all of my projects/life ramblings. πŸ™‚

Just looked at my blog…totally didn’t realize this was my 50th post! Wow! Well…not sure if this was one I wanted to be remembered…but it will be! πŸ™‚

Comments
30 Responses to “>Sweater Wall Art”
  1. Jami says:

    >Beautiful save!!smiles!

  2. mmbcreations says:

    >Sometimes a mistake makes something even more beautiful. I think I like this better than the original idea.

  3. >I love the texture on these! So neat! Was the glass hard to get up? I hate to admit how many of my tops have gotten too short!

  4. Melissa says:

    >Super cute!Melissahttp://www.burstsofcreativity.blogspot.com/

  5. >Oh I think its great! And you can always try the decl again on a new piece πŸ™‚

  6. Charlie says:

    >nice work! you are a quick thinker! πŸ™‚

  7. Kendall says:

    >They look great- I love them! Do you have an Etsy account- you'd be a fantastic store on there πŸ™‚

  8. Martha anne says:

    >I am always so jealous of all your amazing old finds! I think that was a great idea! Good job. Sad about the glass though

  9. Kendall says:

    >I just got your package in the mail today- I LOVE it! Thank you SOO much- it's beautiful! And the added suprise was so sweet!!! ❀

  10. Laura says:

    >The before pictures are hilarious! THey turned out great!This week is my blog anniversary and to celebrate I'm hosting a week's worth of giveaways. I hope you stop by!

  11. Kirsty says:

    >Gorgeous! I love your work on the frames especially! They look fab.

  12. >Cool idea! I've never seen this before. It's beautiful. I am highlighting this at somedaycrafts.blogspot.com

  13. Pam C says:

    >Funny story…can just picture Taylor stepping on the glass!! You continue to amaze me with your creative ideas!! Keep those projects coming, you will have a good inventory for a craft fair.

  14. Jessica says:

    >I love this! I'm so glad it worked out this way- I like this idea even better. Nice save!! :)Jessicahttp://craftily-ever-after.blogspot.com

  15. Holly says:

    >This is really cute…LOVE!

  16. >So resourceful. I think they are great. And so unique!

  17. >love this. You should open a store on Etsy. πŸ™‚

  18. Lisa says:

    >Very cool! So warm and comfy for the cold weather : )

  19. Ashley says:

    >I LOVE how that turned out!!!! I so might need to copy this idea! I hope you don't mind a new follower!-Ashley-

  20. kluless says:

    >I think they turned out great and understand exactly what you mean about "just wanting it done". I, too, have a hard time just letting it steep. Funny thing is, sometimes you get some of the best results from the happy accidents!

  21. >Love the texture, what an original idea! Thanks for linking up!

  22. >I would add some silver, crystal, or ivory colored seed beads for a little glitz.Thanks for the idea. I have an old sweater that I love, but is too hot to wear. I think I'll use your idea and make an art piece for my den.

  23. >Hi Christina, Thanks so much for linking to the Sunday Showcase Party! I greatly appreciate it! I'll be featuring this today – stop by and grab a feature button if you like. Hope you are enjoying your week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

  24. >Hey, Christina! I featured these beauties over at Crafts & Sutch today. Come take a peek when you can and grab a featured button! :)Erin

  25. >This projects is very unique and INVITING. It just pulled me right into your blog — see? I've signed up to follow you and I invite you to do likewise with my blog. I also have a party every Tuesday called the Boardwalk Bragfest. I hope you link up sometime. I look forward to seeing you more often.

  26. >I think they're great, Christina! Actually, the glass breaking was a blessing in disguise. The texture of the sweater is more noticeable (and appealing) without it. I see no reason why you couldn't sell those two and even more like them. Hey, maybe you have another career in the works here. ;)Thanks for linking to my party. It's fun to see what you link up each week.Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottagehttp://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com

  27. Catherine says:

    >Oh no! I would have pouted, too.I think the end result has a nicer feel than glass & vinyl would have had, though, so maybe it was a good thing that hubby wasn't paying attention. πŸ™‚

  28. >Looks great! I know what you mean about getting frustrated. Sometimes the simplest projects end up being the ones that take the longest. But it's usually worth it in the end, and your project certainly looks like it to me!

  29. Michelle L. says:

    >Love it! You totally could have written the tutorial as "I had this great idea and here's how I did it" and I would have been so impressed. To hear this was a mistake – I'm even more impressed. So cute!

Leave a comment