>Organizing my Necklaces

>As many of you know, I just finished organizing my earrings . Well, it was about time for my necklaces to be organized too!

Back in mid-July, I bought this frame at a yardsale for $1.00. I didn’t have a purpose for it, so it has sat around for the past month. When I was awake at 3 AM a few weeks ago, it came to me! I would paint it, put cork in the back, put fabric over the cork, and make a pretty display for my necklaces! …doesn’t everyone think like that at 3 AM…?

I painted the frame 2 colors that match the other furniture around it…it was paint leftover from 2 other projects:

Next, I went on my quest for corkboard. I asked at Lowes AND Home Depot…no luck! I was so bummed out. I ended up going to Staples and only finding these tiles:

sigh … why can’t it ever be easy?

So, I taped them together and cut so they fit my frame. Then, I decided it was too flimsy. Here’s where it gets interesting. My husband and I ordered a pizza after we got back from vacation yesterday…and we just happened to have a very sturdy pizza box on the counter. I quickly sized it up, and cut it to the width of my corkboard pieces…perfect! I feel like this is so “ghetto”…but hey, it’s free and sturdy…don’t judge me! 😉

Then, I found the exact fabric I imagined at 3:00 AM! Imagine the odds! I got it at JoAnns for $7, and I have a lot leftover:

I used my handy-dandy hot glue gun to attach the cork to the cardboard, and then the fabric to the cork. Once I got it all secured, I glued it into the frame itself.

Poor Buckley doesn’t know what to do when I am doing all of this crafting…

I put some hangers on the back of my frame, and put it on my wall. Ta-da!

Last step: fill it with necklaces! I bought some very cute thumbtacks from Wal-Mart which make for a finished look:

Some other angles…


I’m in love! I am really happy with how this turned out…and how practical it is!

Cost of this project:

Frame: $1.00
Leftover paint: $0
Fabric: $7.00 (+ plenty of leftovers!)
Corkboard tiles: $10.00 (+ lefotvers from that too!)
Hangers from Husband’s tool box: $0
Cute thumbtacks: $3.00

Total Cost: $21.00

Visit thecsiproject.com

Comments
19 Responses to “>Organizing my Necklaces”
  1. Marty says:

    >Nice job!! Dontcha just love it when that light goes off and your like….OMGosh, THAT'S what I'll do with that frame"!! Or whatever the case may be=) It turned out really nice=))

  2. Charity says:

    >Very cute idea! I'm a new follower from Just Something I Whipped Up.Charityhttp://humboldtcherry.blogspot.com/

  3. >This is just wonderful!Love your blog!Thank you for sharing!Leticia

  4. Erin says:

    >Really pretty!!I recently organized my jewerly, but mine's much more utilitarian, than pretty. 😉

  5. >Chic!I made something similar a few years back with an old frame I painted, some left over plastic canvas and felt.I used it for my earrings.Yours is so much more cuter than mine!

  6. Sassy Sites! says:

    >I think it turned out beautiful! It makes your necklaces look like a piece of art! :)…visiting from Sassy Sites! I am a follower! Come by my blog and say HI! :)(you have a very Sassy Site!)

  7. Rhiannon says:

    >i love it! VERY cute, I just started working on a cork board myself. Thanks for being a follower and always stopping by!

  8. Leanne says:

    >I love displayed jewelry. It looks beautiful. I'm hosting We're Organized Wednesday this week and would love for you to join the party. Hope to see you there.http://organizeyourstuffnow.com

  9. Robin says:

    >I love the black! Love this! You have to link this to my Upcycled Awesome Linky party at http://tinyurl.com/Upcycled10

  10. Amber says:

    >Very cute and much better than the thumbtacks stuck straight into my wall right now!

  11. Bella says:

    >Very creative indeed. I can't wait to finally get my jewelry organizer created. I've seen amazing posts about it, and now I have one more to add to my list of ideas. Thanks!!!

  12. Bella says:

    >Im new too, and I hear ya, I am on a mission to lose a few pounds too, I look forward to seeing how it goes for you, and I would love it if you added this wonderful project to my new linky party. I know everyone will love it. 🙂

  13. Terrell says:

    >Cannot tell you how adorable this project is!! It's simply precious and so is your blog! I'm your newest follower and would love to have you visit Frou Frou Decor..I love new friends! I'd also like to invite you to link up to my party every Friday..for Fabulous Friday Finds…this is seriously fab!! 😀 Hope to see you there! Hugs,~Terrell @ FFD~

  14. Leanne says:

    >I love the frame you used. Thanks for linking to We're ORganized Wednesday.

  15. Maria says:

    >Wow! This is very pretty. I will have to make one of these and hang it on my wall. Right now, my kids love to play with (and destroy) my jewelry because it is within reach. Thanks for sharing!

  16. >I will be featuring you!!!Bonnie 🙂

  17. Bella says:

    >Hey Christina just wanted to thank you again for joining my party, and sharing this amazing jewelry organizer. I did a small feature on you today, just saying THANK YOU again!!!

  18. akainteriordesign says:

    >I TOTALLY think like that at 3 am!!! I am linking this to the list of DIY projects on our blog. Come have a look-see!Shannonwww.akadesign.ca

Leave a Reply

